Fear of coronavirus second wave stalks stock markets

By Ritu, Capital Sands Global stocks and oil prices fell on Wednesday as fears about a second wave of coronavirus infections gripped financial markets. Investors, many facing steep losses due to the pandemic-driven shakeout in assets over the past few months, have also had to contend with renewed U.S.-China tradeRead More →

Europe Trades in Tight Ranges; Vodafone Outperforms

By Ritu, Capital Sands European stock markets traded in tight ranges Tuesday, as investors weighed up the benefits of reopening economies with the possibility of a second wave of Covid-19 victims. At 3:55 AM ET (0755 GMT), the DAX in Germany traded 0.1% higher, France’s CAC 40 fell 0.08%, while the U.K.’s FTSE index was upRead More →

Fear of coronavirus second wave stalks stock markets

By Ritu, Capital Sands European stock markets posted gains Monday, amid growing optimism as more countries start to reopen their economies. At 3:45 AM ET (0735 GMT), the DAX in Germany traded 0.5% higher, and France’s CAC 40 rose 0.2%. The U.K.’s FTSE index gained 0.8%, making up for lost time as Friday was a holiday.Read More →

Europe Pushes Higher as Trade War Threat Recedes

By Ritu, Capital Sands European stock markets pushed higher Friday, helped by a lessening of tensions between China and the U.S. ahead of key employment data. At 4 AM ET (0800 GMT), the DAX in Germany traded 0.8% higher, and France’s CAC 40 rose 0.6%. The U.K.’s FTSE index was closed due to a holiday. China’sRead More →

Europe Edges Lower; FTSE 100 Outperforms

By Ritu, Capital Sands European stock markets traded slightly lower Wednesday amid weak economic data, while better than expected earnings helped the U.K. to outperform. At 4:35 AM ET (0835 GMT), the DAX in Germany traded 0.1% lower, France’s CAC 40 fell 0.2%, while the U.K.’s FTSE 100 index traded up 0.7%. German factory orders slumpedRead More →

UK factories suffer worst month in three decades

By Ritu, Capital Sands British manufacturers suffered the biggest fall in output and orders for at least three decades in April, as measures to slow the spread of the new coronavirus sent the economy into a steep downturn, a survey showed on Friday. April’s final IHS Markit/CIPS Manufacturing Purchasing Managers’Read More →

Europe Edges Higher; Central Bank Meetings Loom

By Ritu, Capital Sands European stock markets edged higher Wednesday, with investors cautiously optimistic ahead of key central bank meetings and as the earnings season continues. At 4:15 AM ET (0815 GMT), the U.K.’s FTSE index traded 0.7% higher, France’s CAC 40 was down 0.2%, while the DAX rose 0.1%. The broader based Stoxx 600 Europe index climbedRead More →

Europe Edges Higher; Central Bank Meetings Loom

By Ritu, Capital Sands European stock markets pushed higher Wednesday amid signs the region’s economic shutdown may be coming to an end, but turmoil in the oil market continued to demand a degree of caution.. At 4 AM ET (0800 GMT), the U.K.’s FTSE index traded 1% higher, France’s CAC 40 was up 0.5%,Read More →

Japan's battle with pandemic may mark end of Abe's fiscal experiment

By Ritu, Capital Sands The huge cost of the coronavirus pandemic is upending Japan’s seven-year experiment to rescue the economy from its debt timebomb, as recession fears prompt calls for “helicopter money” – unlimited spending bankrolled by the central bank. Days after Prime Minister Shinzo Abe launched a nearly $1Read More →